Skip to main navigation.
Contact Us: 1-800-326-9799

Claverack REC Seeking Director Candidates

Claverack Rural Electric Cooperative is accepting nominating petitions from members who wish to serve on the board of directors and reside in Zones 7, 8 and 9 of the cooperative’s service territory.


Claverack will conduct elections for directors representing Zones 7, 8 and 9 in 2019. Those zones are currently served by directors Charles R. Bullock of Meshoppen, Charles R. McNamara of Friendsville, and Steven T. Sliwinski to Troy, respectively.  Sliwinsky, who has served on the board since 1980, has announced that he will not be seeking re-election.


Directors are responsible for developing co-op policies and long-range plans. They voice members’ concerns and make recommendations to Claverack’s management staff.  Nine directors comprise Claverack’s board. Each board member represents a specific area within the utility’s service territory. Directors serve three-year terms. Elections take place on a rotating basis, with director seats in three of the co-op’s nine zones up for election each year. The board meets at Claverack’s headquarters in Wysox on the fourth Wednesday of each month.


To be eligible for director candidacy, you must meet all guidelines listed in the cooperative’s bylaws, which may be viewed online by visiting A copy of the bylaws can also be obtained by contacting the cooperative or visiting the co-op’s Wysox office. To serve on the board, you must be a Claverack member and a bona-fide resident of the zone you seek to represent. You cannot be employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or business, or be a close relative of an employee or board member.


Residential members from Zones 7, 8 or 9 interested in running for a position on the cooperative’s board of directors must be nominated by a petition signed by at least 15 members residing in the candidate’s respective zone. Petitions and further instructions are available by contacting Annette Bender at the Claverack office at 1-800-326-9799 or (570) 265-2167 or by email at mail@claverack.comPetitions must be received by Monday, March 11, 2019, in order to be considered. The election of directors will be conducted via mail-in ballots; therefore, adequate time is needed for the petitions to be received and reviewed by the cooperative’s credentials and election committee.


Following are the townships in which director elections will take place this year:

Zone 7: Auburn, Bridgewater, Brooklyn, Dimock, and Springville in Susquehanna County; Nicholson in Wyoming County.

Zone 8: Franklin, Great Bend, Harmony, Liberty, New Milford, Oakland, and Silver Lake in Susquehanna County.

Zone 9: Burlington, Canton, Franklin, Granville, LeRoy, Monroe, North Towanda, Overton, Smithfield, Towanda, West Burlington and Wysox in Bradford County; McNett Township in Lycoming County; and Union Township in Tioga County.


Claverack Rural Electric Cooperative, a member-owned, not-for-profit utility with headquarters in Wysox, provides electricity to over 18,700 meters in Bradford, Susquehanna, Wyoming, Lycoming, Sullivan, Lackawanna, Luzerne and Tioga counties. Claverack is one of 13 electric cooperatives in Pennsylvania.




Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo